J: Joy: La Jalousie is Overcome by La Joie

Can we be joyeux and jaloux about the same thing at the same time?

Oui, of course! In fact, Freud considers jalousie an emotional state, which means that there are différent levels to it (see: Jealousy: Experiences and Solutions). I can actually say that this is one Freudian idée that I agree with. For exemple, you and a close friend applied for the same million-dollar position at work. Your friend gets the job. You’re joyeux for your friend; however, at the same time, you can’t help but be a little jaloux, after all you put a ton of effort into the interview.

This is a normal feeling that helps keep us grounded. Being a little jaloux reminds us of our goals in life. It can also help us modify these goals as we come to understand more of what we want out of life. For exemple, last summer, I learned how to play tennis. I’m a terrible player, but I still enjoy the game! Of course, I’m a little jalouse of my friends who are awesome players; however, I don’t let that get in the way of friendships or of how much fun I have on the court. At the same time, I realize that I’m not going to add “professional tennis player” as a goal in my life. In my cas, jalousie is overcome by joie. The fact that I’m a tid-bit jalouse just shows how much appréciation and joie I have for my friends and their levels of tennis.

Professional tennis player or ballerina playing tennis?

At the same time, being too jaloux can affect your daily outcome on life. Since there are varying levels to jalousie (according to Freud, of course), it’s important not to take jalousie too far.

So, how do we know how far is too far? If jalousie is interrupting your life in negative ways, then this it’s time to re-analyze the situation and maybe even seek help. Getting help is the best thing you can do to help establish more joie and less jalousie in la vie.So, while a little jalousie can be a good thing; too much of it can lead to terrible results…Good thing joie is here to keep jalousie at bay! ♦


This is part of a blogging challenge: Topics ranging from A-Z. You can follow my challenge by clicking on the links below:

A: Adulthood: The Age of Absolute Ambiguïté 

B: Bilingue: La Vie is Better Being Bilingual

C: Christianisme: Combing the Cliffs of Clarté

D: Death: Dealing with the Décès of My Dad

E: Éducation: The Endeavor of Easing into French Écoles

F: Food: Fancy or Faulty in France?

G: Going: Going Going Gone!

H: Home: My Heart Has Two Harbors

I: Interests: Intelligent, Insightful, Incredible!

J: Joy: La Jalousie is Overcome by La Joie

K: Khimar: Kind and Kooky Knitted Clothing Traditions

L: Lesson Plans: Leading the “Little Ones” into Language through Laughable Leçons

M: Musique: The Many Musicians Making Love on the Streets of Aix

N: Naughty or Nice?: Not Only Noticing the Différences, But Also the Similarités Between France and the U.S.

O: Obéi: Only Open to Obeying the Rules of the Road in…

P: PACS: Passionate Partners Pledging L’amour

Q: Questions: A Queen’s Quest for Clarté

R: Raisons: Riding on the Pony of Real Reasons (to Take the A-Z Challenge)

S: Study Abroad: Smiles and Sadness Set the Scène

T: Travel: Time to Hit the Trail!

U: Under the Influence: An Ugly Upward Climb Until Reaching the Summit

V: Vulgarité: Venturing out into the Vast and Voluptuous World of Cultural Différences

W: Walking: The Wise and Watchful Médiéval Wanderer

X: Xenial: A Xenodochial but not Xenophobic Host in France

22 thoughts on “J: Joy: La Jalousie is Overcome by La Joie

Leave a Reply

